Elam Baer & Janis Clay Educational Scholarship


Congratulations to the 2017 scholarship recipients!  

Michael Blesi 
Hannah Enge
Elizabeth  McGraw
Aleah O'Neal 
Leng Vue

Katherine Weidt 
Paige White 
Katelyn Woehnker
Cassidy Yueh
Hafsa Yusuf 




 Students who have shown courage in dealing with epilepsy, commitment to their education, and perseverance in eliminating the obstacles that epilepsy may present are welcome to apply for the Elam Baer & Janis Clay Educational Scholarship.  Ten $1,000 scholarships are awarded each year.  Scholarship funds are intended to be used for school-related expenses only.

Application Deadline:                     April 3, 2017 at noon
Awards Announcement:                May 1, 2017
Scholarship Amount:                     $1,000 (ten scholarships awarded) 

Download the scholarship application HERE


  • Must have a diagnosis of epilepsy/seizure disorder.
  • Must be a high school senior or a high school graduate.
  • Must provide proof of acceptance to a post-secondary academic or vocational program.
  • Must live in Minnesota or eastern North Dakota.
  • Must submit a completed application and two letters of recommendation.

Selection Factors:

  • Strong career goals
  • How applicant has overcome obstacles related to epilepsy
  • Personal achievements
  • Involvement with the Epilepsy Foundation of Minnesota and/or the community

Selection Panel:

Volunteer selection committee to be determined by the Executive Director.


The Elam Baer & Janis Clay educational scholarship is administered by the EFMN. For information, call 1.800.779.0777.

Opportunities are provided solely on individual merit of applicants related to scholarship requirements and without regard to religion, creed, race, national origin, gender, or sexual orientation. 

Logo Flame White

Epilepsy Foundation of Minnesota, Inc. • Copyright © 1994-2015 All rights reserved.
1600 University Ave. W. Suite 300, St. Paul, MN 55104